Our Curriculum

At Valley Hill we believe that it is our responsibility to support all children to learn, step by step each day, enabling them to do more, independently. We provide children with a child-centred learning environment which allows them to explore and develop with an adult playing along-side, supporting and facilitating their learning.

We use the governments Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework to develop our curriculum. The EYFS sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

We explore the world around us through the seven areas of learning:


The three prime areas (these are focused on from 0-3 years)

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Four Specific Areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design